Te Kotahitanga
Manu Reo o Aotearoa

The Big Sing Finale 2022 Awards

The Big Sing Finale 2022 Awards


29 August 2022

Congratulations to all the participating choirs in The Big Sing National Finale 2022! Our adjudicators were hugely impressed with the high standard of performance and were blown away by the passion and commitment of all the singers, conductors and instrumentalists involved. Listed below are the awards presented at the gala concert in the Christchurch Town Hall on Saturday 29 August.


You can watch videos of all the choir’s performances at The Big Sing Finale 2022 on the NZCF YouTube channel.

All the King’s MenKing’s CollegeSteven RapanaGold
AltissimeSamuel Marsden CollegiateMaaike Christie-BeekmanSilver
Bel CantoBurnside High SchoolNaomi HnatSilver
Bel SuonoWaikato Diocesan SchoolMaria ColvinBronze
Blue NotesTawa CollegeIsaac StoneGold
CantareWestlake Girls’ High SchoolFiona WilsonGold
CantricesChristchurch Girls’ High SchoolJenny MorrisonBronze
Choralation Westlake Girls’ High School & Westlake Boys’ HSRowan JohnstonGold
Con BrioVilla Maria CollegeNaomi HnatBronze
DivinitusDiocesan School for Girls & Dilworth SchoolLachlan CraigSilver
EuphonyKristin SchoolDavid SquireGold
FemmeSouthland Girls’ HSSarah Rae & Peter de BloisBronze
GrammarphonicsAuckland Grammar SchoolTakerei KomeneSilver
LeonessaTakapuna Grammar SchoolJacob MooreGold
King’s College Chamber ChoirKing’s College, AucklandSteven RapanaSilver
Ngā Korimako Wellington Girls’ College & Wellington CollegeMichael FletcherBronze
OK ChoralePalmerston North Boys’ HSGraeme YoungBronze
ParadisumEpsom Girls’ Grammar SchoolVirginia Le CrenSilver
ResolutionsRangi Ruru Girls’ SchoolHelen CharltonSilver
Saints Alive  St Cuthbert’s CollegeDenzel PanamaSilver
St Cecilia SingersDiocesan School for GirlsRachel SutherlandGold
Viva CamerataRathkeale College & St Matthew’s CollegiateKiewiet van DeventerSilver
Voces LuceQueen Margaret CollegeMark StamperSilver
VoicemaleWestlake Boys’ High SchoolDavid SquireSilver

Special Awards & Trophies

Hutt City Trophy for Best Performance of a NZ Composition:
Leonessa, Takapuna Grammar School

Tour Time Trophy for Best Performance of Choral Art Music (non-New Zealand):
Cantare, Westlake Girls’ High School

Auahi Kore Performance Award for Best Performance of a piece with a text in te reo Māori:
Divinitus, Dilworth School & Diocesan School for Girls

Youth Ambassador Award for the choir that most demonstrates outstanding engagement with all elements of the Finale:
OK Chorale, Palmerston North Boys’ High School.

SOUNZ-NZCF Composition Competition Award.
William Squire – “Flames

SOUNZ-NZCF Te Reo Māori Choral Composition Award:
Estella Wallace – “Ka Mate Te Reo I Te Reaka Kotahi”

Back to News