X close menu
Forgotten password
Association of Choral Directors
Back to previous page

Waikato/Bay of Plenty Kids Sing

Kids Sing Report – Waikato/Bay of Plenty

The third Waikato/Bay of Plenty NZCF Kids Sing was held at Southwell School, Hamilton on Tuesday18th October. Rotorua local Evelyn Falconer adjudicated the ten choirs of young singers who came from all over large region.

A feature this year was the majority of choirs opting to be competitive. While all choirs, no matter where they are in their choral journey, are encouraged to give the Kids Sing a go, having more competitive choirs points to both an increase in standard across the region and to a rise in confidence amongst the choral directors.

The branch sponsors a professional development award each year, and this year it went to Jane Ferguson of St Joseph’s, Morrinsville. The organisers are very grateful to Southwell School for hosting the event, with their excellent facilities. Next year’s Kids Sing will be again in Tauranga, at Bethlehem College.

Summary and Awards – congratulations to all singers!


364 children, 52 school staff and parents, 9 volunteers, and approx. 100 audience members

Schools / Choirs

Southwell School – Hamilton
Selwyn Ridge – Tauranga
Welcome Bay Primary – Tauranga
Bethlehem College – Bethlehem
MalfroySchool – Rotorua
St Peter’s Cathedra – Hamilton
Te Kowhai School – Te Kowhai
Hillcrest Normal – Hamilton
Newstead Primary – Hamilton
St Joseph’s School – Morrisville


Best Full Primary – Southwell School (Girls)
Best Contributing Primary – Selwyn Ridge and Welcome Bay

Southwell School (Girls)
Southwell School (Boys)

Selwyn Ridge and Welcome Bay Schools
Bethlehem College (Intermediate Choir)
Malfroy School

St Peter’s Cathedral
Te Kowhai School

Best performance of the test piece – Southwell School (Girls)
Best performance of a New Zealand piece – Selwyn Ridge and Welcome Bay (1st)
Hillcrest Normal (2nd)
Best Popular Song – Mafroy School and Southwell School (Boys)
Best Impact Song – Newstead Model Country School
Conductors Proffesional Development Award – Jane Fergusson from St Joseph’s School
Choirs Ambassador’s Award – Hillcrest Normal