X close menu
Forgotten password
Association of Choral Directors
Back to previous page

The Big Sing Finale 2022 awards


Congratulations to all the participating choirs in The Big Sing National Finale 2022! Our adjudicators were hugely impressed with the high standard of performance and were blown away by the passion and commitment of all the singers, conductors and instrumentalists involved. Listed below are the awards presented at the gala concert in the Christchurch Town Hall on Saturday 29 August.


You can watch videos of all the choir’s performances at The Big Sing Finale 2022 on the NZCF YouTube channel.

All the King’s Men  King’s College Steven Rapana Gold
Altissime  Samuel Marsden Collegiate Maaike Christie-Beekman Silver
Bel Canto   Burnside High School Naomi Hnat Silver
Bel Suono   Waikato Diocesan School Maria Colvin Bronze
Blue Notes Tawa College Isaac Stone Gold
Cantare Westlake Girls’ High School Fiona Wilson Gold
Cantrices Christchurch Girls’ High School Jenny Morrison Bronze
Choralation  Westlake Girls’ High School & Westlake Boys’ HS Rowan Johnston Gold
Con Brio   Villa Maria College Naomi Hnat Bronze
Divinitus Diocesan School for Girls & Dilworth School Lachlan Craig Silver
Euphony   Kristin School David Squire Gold
Femme Southland Girls’ HS Sarah Rae & Peter de Blois Bronze
Grammarphonics Auckland Grammar School Takerei Komene Silver
Leonessa Takapuna Grammar School Jacob Moore Gold
King’s College Chamber Choir King’s College, Auckland Steven Rapana Silver
Ngā Korimako  Wellington Girls’ College & Wellington College Michael Fletcher Bronze
OK Chorale Palmerston North Boys’ HS Graeme Young Bronze
Paradisum Epsom Girls’ Grammar School Virginia Le Cren Silver
Resolutions Rangi Ruru Girls’ School Helen Charlton Silver
Saints Alive   St Cuthbert’s College Denzel Panama Silver
St Cecilia Singers Diocesan School for Girls Rachel Sutherland Gold
Viva Camerata Rathkeale College & St Matthew’s Collegiate Kiewiet van Deventer Silver
Voces Luce Queen Margaret College Mark Stamper Silver
Voicemale Westlake Boys’ High School David Squire Silver


Hutt City Trophy for Best Performance of a NZ Composition:
Leonessa, Takapuna Grammar School

Tour Time Trophy for Best Performance of Choral Art Music (non-New Zealand):
Cantare, Westlake Girls’ High School

Auahi Kore Performance Award for Best Performance of a piece with a text in te reo Māori:
Divinitus, Dilworth School & Diocesan School for Girls

Youth Ambassador Award for the choir that most demonstrates outstanding engagement with all elements of the Finale:
OK Chorale, Palmerston North Boys’ High School.

SOUNZ-NZCF Composition Competition Award.
William Squire – “Flames

SOUNZ-NZCF Te Reo Māori Choral Composition Award:
Estella Wallace – “Ka Mate Te Reo I Te Reaka Kotahi”