X close menu
Register Watch


The NZCF/SOUNZ Choral Composition Competition, introduced by NZ Choral Federation to mark the third millennium, with a trophy presented by NZCF Auckland Region, is run in conjunction with The Big Sing National Finale and SOUNZ Centre for New Zealand Music, and awards a prize for the best choral piece composed by a New Zealand secondary school student.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, The Big Sing has been cancelled this year, so the winning piece will not be performed at Finale. However, this year's winner of the NZCF/SOUNZ Choral Composition Competition will have the opportunity to record their piece with a school choir later this year. This recording will be posted on YouTube and shared through our social media channels.

The adjudicator for 2020 is David Hamilton. Click here to read David's bio.

The results of the 2020 NZCF/SOUNZ Choral Composition Competition for secondary school students are:

1st place: Georgina Palmer (Nelson College for Girls): "A Music Everywhere".
2nd = place: Emily Gambrill (Rangi Ruru Girls' School): "The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me" and Niki Sun (Westlake Girls' High School): "The Smile".
Highly Commended: William Squire (Westlake Boys' High School): "Storm".
Commended: Heloise Hildreth (Nelson College for Girls): "Chariot of Fire" and Joshua Langford (Wellington College): "Agnus Dei. 




Future Finales
The following are the dates for The Big Sing Finale in 2021: 2021 Christchurch (Thursday 26 - Saturday 28 August in the Christchurch Town Hall)  
Archives Related events eBreve signup Support us